**COVID-19 Operational Update**

Charles Soil Conservation District office is currently open to the public at a reduced level.  Please call ahead.  Materials may be dropped off and picked up in the vestibule.  Virtual meetings are still encouraged.  Necessary in-person meetings should be scheduled in advance.  Building entry protocols will apply to anyone entering beyond the vestibule.  State offices remain closed to the public with continued telework in place. 


2021 Office Closures

Friday, January 1
Monday, January 18
Monday, February 15
Friday, April 2
Monday, May 31
Monday, July 5
Monday, September 6
Monday, October 11
Thursday, November 11
Thursday, November 25
Friday, November 26
Friday, December 24
Friday, December 31

Charles Soil Conservation District Supervisor to be Appointed

Nominations for an appointment to the Charles Soil Conservation District Board of Supervisors are being accepted by the Maryland State Soil Conservation Committee.

The appointment will be for a term to expire April 2026 and will fill the expired term of William Tomlinson.  Nominations should be sent to:  State Soil Conservation Committee, Department of Agriculture, 50 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Room 306, Annapolis, Maryland 21401.

Any interested individual or organization may submit a recommendation.  Nomination forms are available at the office of Alan Leslie, Extension Educator, Um Ext., 9501 Crain Hwy., Box 1, Bel Alton, MD  20611.  Forms may also be picked up at the Charles Soil Conservation District Office, 4200 Gardiner Road, Waldorf, MD 20601.  Nominations should be received by the State Soil Conservation Committee by July 1, 2021.  The form is now available online at www.mda.maryland.gov (click on Conservation, then Committees).

A supervisor must be a resident of the district.  District boundaries are the same as county boundaries.  Anyone recommended should be able to attend monthly meetings of the Board of Supervisors, and have a knowledge of and a sincere interest in proper land use and the conservation of soil, water and related natural resources.

District Supervisor Application Form

Mission Statement

The Charles Soil Conservation District serves the people of Charles County in the conservation and protection of soil, water, and other natural resources using all available technical, financial, and educational programs.


Vision Statement

To serve as a leading agency in Charles County in promoting the wise use and protection of Charles County’s natural resources through the application of conservation practices and conservation education.